D-Link DWL-905+ AirPlus Wireless Network Kit – サポートフォーラム

sharing a broadband connection [D-Link DWL-905+ AirPlus Wireless Network Kit - 105762]

hi there I have a cable broadband connection. I am trying to set up a wireless network so three computers can share the connection. I bought a dwl-905+ wireless kit, but can't access the internet (I seem to be communicating with the access point okay). The documentation says I need a router as well- what is a router, and why do I need it? The cable modem has an ethernet socket on it- can I not just plug it into the access point? The description of the kit on the expansys website does not mention that I need anything else to set up an internet network as far as I can tell. Also, non of the computers are in the same room as the cable modem- does one of them need to be connected to the access point to manage it? Sorry for my ignorance- I'm new to wireless networking (and networking!) Thanks Jake
  • rperkin
  • 加入日: 12 8月 2003
  • 居住地: UK